Vegetable Oil


The next morning when Zuleikha summoned Joseph into her boudoir for the *usual early-morning meeting* in which she would lay out what she wanted done that day, she began by saying, “Well, Joseph, did you sleep well?”

“Yes, Zuleikha, I did?”

“It sounded like there was someone at the well during the night who was emptying water over himself. Was it you?”

“Er….no…….I mean….. yes.”

“Great heavens, why?”

“I was hot and couldn’t sleep.”

“Perhaps you were hot because of me?”

“Of course not. The night was hot and the water was cool. Is that so difficult to understand?”

“You’re tetchy this morning, Joseph. Did I hit a nerve?”

“No.”

“You know, Joseph, when I heard the water last night, I guessed it was you, and wished I was at the well too, so you could pour water over me, and I could pour water over you. You’d have liked this, wouldn’t you? I know I would have.”

“Can I go now? There’s lots I must see to.”

“I’ll let you go for now. There’s one particular thing I want done, though. I’ll tell you about it after your mid-day meal. Come back and see me then.”

***

Having had his mid-day meal of bread with olive-oil and cheese, Joseph went to Zuleikha’s boudoir.

“What is it you wished to see me about, Madam?”

“Madam? Why so formal all of a sudden? I’m Zuleikha, don’t you remember?”

“What is it you wished to see me about……..Zuleikha?”

“What beautiful hands you have, Joseph” said Zuleikha as she took his hands in hers, “They’ll be perfect for what I want you to do.”

“And what is that?”

“I want you to give me a massage?”

“A what?”

“A massage. Don’t look so startled, Joseph. You do know what a massage is, don’t you?”

“Well……yes. But I don’t think it’s my station to give you one.”

“Why ever not.”

“Well….I mean…..I don’t think it’s part of my duties as Potiphar gave me to understand them. Besides, what would he say about me giving you a massage?”

“Potty won’t know because I won’t tell him. And you won’t tell him either, will you, Joseph?”

“Not if you don’t want me to. But, isn’t Potiphar the one to give you a massage?”

“You’d think so, but he doesn’t seem interested. Which is why I want you to, Joseph. I just know you’ll give me a wonderful massage with your beautiful and sensitive hands as they slide over the skin of all my body. And I’ll do the same to you. Wouldn’t you like that?”

***

Zuleikha lay face down on her bed and slid off her robe which was all she had covering her. She told Joseph to take off all he had covering him too. She pointed to a jar containing vegetable oil and told him to pour some on his hands and then begin the massage……….

***

“Are your hands tired yet, Joseph?”

“Not really.”

“Your hands must be as tireless as they are sensitive to the touch of my skin. The way you’re running them down my body and along my arms and legs is making me feel things inside me I’ve never felt before. I’ve never felt so wonderful. You have magic in your fingers, Joseph. Are you having a good time?”

“Yes.”

***

“Your hands must surely be tired now, Joseph.”

“They are a bit.”

“We can stop now for a little while if you like.”

“Alright.”

“I’m going to turn over face up. I hope you don’t mind.”

“I don’t mind.”

“You look beautiful, Joseph.”.

“You too, Zuleikha.”

Zuleikha reached out and put her arms around Joseph’s neck.

“Make love to me.”

“Oh, Zuleikha, I want to, but I can’t betray Potiphar who has put his trust in me. I must leave now. Let go of me.”

“You can’t go now. Come back, come back…….”.

Source: Genesis 39, 7 – 12

This entry was posted in Joseph, Potiphar, Zuleikha and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Vegetable Oil

  1. Richard says:

    I really must read my Bible before it’s too late.

  2. Richard says:

    I really must read my Bible – before it’s too late.

  3. Christopher says:

    If, after reading entries on this blog, you feel you must read your Bible before it’s too late, this defeats the whole purpose of this blog, which is to save readers from having to read the Bible.

Leave a Reply

